Why I got into software development

Why I got into software development

Β·

4 min read

Introduction

What is software development?, well according to this article by IBM, software development refers to a set of computer science activities dedicated to the process of creating, designing, deploying and supporting software.

And although there's a lot more to software development than just programming, that's going to be the main point of this article as that is what I am into and can talk the best about.

let's get started

So what called me to software development?

The short answer would be because it was fun, it looked cool, and I wanted to help people while also helping myself. But I'll go into a little more detail below to help you understand what I mean

Why I got into Tech

1. It was convenient

One of the main reasons I chose tech and coding in particular above other things I could have gotten into was that I had done some coding classes back in high school and although I didn't really take them seriously back then, I acknowledged how nice and fun it felt learning to code.

The decision was made easier for me because I also had a few programming courses in my curriculum as an engineering student and learning to code now would undoubtedly make those courses easier and more relatable, so I suppose you could say it was really only a matter of time.

2. It's easy to get into

One of the most appealing things about tech is that you don't really need much to get started. All you truly need is some free time, data, and a burning desire to learn... and you're all set.

A lot of people use the excuse of not having a laptop to delay getting into tech, and although your journey into tech might be a little more bumpy than average without one, it can definitely be done, and yes, I speak from experience.

Although the actual process of learning to code is a little demanding, time-consuming and requires a significant amount of hard work and dedication, but so does everything else.

But once you get past this initial stage where you're just learning and everything is a little frustrating because it's new and you're not good at it yet, everything else flows smoothly.

Coding is something that once learnt can become enjoyable and can be used as a sort of reprieve from daily life, or am I just weird?

3. Money

Money was also another thing that played a part in my decision to get into tech, cause lets be honest here, who doesn't want money? (not me)

Important!!

Please, if you know where they're getting the money from, come and tell me, cause me I've not started getting it🀧

Conclusion

So yeah, to shed more light on my initial answer, software development is cool, it is fun, and my initial idea when I said helping people was maybe building some sort of app that would make the gathering of examination resources easier and less disorganised in my school, or maybe making an app that aids studying by applying all the best reading/learning techniques and lets you know how far you've come in your course work.

Even though I didn't end up making said app, I discovered another career path in tech that interested me and had far more interesting prospects in helping people than I had found in software engineering and I even discovered an interesting and wonderful way I could integrate it into my degree, so yeah, Machine learning just felt cooler, more fun, and much more exciting to me than ordinary software development.

And perhaps this article should have been about 'why I chose to get into Machine Learning' instead, but I think it's more important and insightful to know where it all started from. So this is it, the beginning.

P.S;

Note that most of the points stated in this article can be further understood in my other article on why you should learn to code

Also note that this article is an entry for the hashnode 4articles4weeks challenge, so please give this article a lot of reactions (πŸ‘,πŸ‘,πŸ’“...anything you want to), let me know how and why you got into tech, and how your journey has been so far. And If you haven't gotten into tech yet, tell us why in the comments below. share this article so others can also benefit from our stories, thank you.


Parting words

Thanks for reading my article, I hope you enjoyed it, remember to give this article a πŸ‘ if you did, and let me know your thoughts in the comments below. I'd love to connect with you on

and here on hashnode too at IqmaCodes


Β