An Introduction to Cybersecurity

An Introduction to Cybersecurity

·

5 min read

This is the twenty-first century, and technology is everywhere. Whether it's technological gadgets like phones and Laptops or everyday machines and systems like cars, elevators and home assistants, or even something as simple as the internet which we all use. We're all connected to technology one way or another.

Because of this 'connection' we are constantly putting ourselves at risk every time we come into contact with any technological equipment. We put ourselves at risk every time we get into a car(even if it's a 5-minute drive to get to class), we put ourselves at risk every time we hold our phones in our hands and make use of them, and we put ourselves at risk every time we go on google to find answers to class assignments.

How?

Well, let's say I'm a hacker, -and if you're wondering what a hacker is, let's just say I'm a bad guy who needs money, and I also happen to be an expert at breaking into anything technology related-. Do you see where this is going?

The Problem

Yeah, you guessed it, you're in trouble.

So here I am, craving chocolates and drinks, but I have no money to get them... But guess what? , there you are with lots of money, a bank account, and a phone. The solution to all my problems.

There are various ways for me to get to your money, the easiest being to implement 'phishing' techniques and trick you into giving me your bank details. 'phishing' is a

Here's one of the many ways this could be done.

The Process

I've been following you on Twitter (X) for a while now, and I know you love quotes. So, I am sending you a link to a site I've found that shares nice and unique quotes with you every hour, you love the idea and click on the link immediately.

Unknown to you, I've put a drive-by download on the site, this means that immediately you click on that link the site is going to automatically install a keylogger onto your computer without your knowledge.

Wait, what's a keylogger ??

Oh, nothing. Just the software that's going to keep track of everything you type on your keyboard. Meaning, it's how I'm going to learn your password and get into your bank account to get funds to buy my chocolate😊

Hopefully, your money is going to be enough for me to get marshmallows too.

This is just one of the many ways I can get your banking details. I could also get other things if I wanted to, and there's nothing you can do about it.

Or is there?

The solution

Well, this is where Cybersecurity comes in. The solution to your problems, and the only way you have even a sliver of hope to guard against me.

Cybersecurity is the technology that counters all these potential threats you face due to technology (Talk about beating someone at their own game). It is the practice of guarding against cyber attacks and protecting your networks, systems and devices from bad guys -like me- who want nothing more than to get their hands on them.

Categories of Cybersecurity

  • Application security

    This is the aspect of cybersecurity that keeps your software applications safe from hackers.

  • Information security

    This aspect of cybersecurity keeps data in which you've shared one way or the other safe from unwanted eyes.

  • Endpoint security

    This is the aspect of cybersecurity that protects your systems and devices such as your laptop, phone and other gadgets from attackers.

There are also a couple of other ways to protect yourself and your systems apart from these, examples of such ways are

  • Risk management

    Risk management involves assessing networks, systems and the like, to determine potential forms of threat and guard against them.

  • Security awareness

    Security awareness is what I'm doing right now by writing this article. It is about educating the general public on various cybersecurity threats and the methods to be implemented to guard against them.

Conclusion

In this article, you learnt about Cybersecurity and different aspects of cybersecurity, and even learnt some helpful cybersecurity terminologies like 'phishing' and 'keylogger' along the way.

This article has shown you the importance of cybersecurity as a field and why we as individuals should take active steps towards making the world more cyber secure.

What Next?

Read articles(like this one). Watch a video. Take a course!

It's October (AKA Cybersecurity Awareness Month), which means there a currently a lot of open initiatives focused on equipping people with basic cybersecurity knowledge.

An example of this is Cybersafe Foundation's Cybersecurity Awareness Course. There are of course many more that can be found simply by exploring the internet, and these resources will continue to be available beyond this month.

Good luck!

Link to the course - https://cybersafe-foundation.teachable.com/p/cybersecurity-awareness-course-csam-20223


Note- I'm not actually a hacker, all instances used in this article are purely for the sake of the reader's understanding, except the chocolate part - I do want chocolates and drinks (Viju milk)-, I'll probably go get them for myself after publishing this article.

If you liked this article and/or it was helpful to you, hit the like button and let me know what you think in the comments below. Also, feel free to check out my other articles here.

✌🏾